Skip to main content

Call for quicker approval of LNG export applications

LNG Industry,

The Center for LNG has praised a bipartisan group of 16 legislators, representing districts in the western region of the US, who have called for an expedited review process for applications to export liquefied natural gas (LNG).

A letter has been sent to Steven Chu, Secretary of the US Department of Energy (DOE), where all LNG export applications must be reviewed. It noted that “Creating more opportunities to sell natural gas into global markets and access overseas customers could help the goals of increasing natural gas use and smooth out historical boom-bust cycles. Realising sustainable natural gas prices will continue to stimulate the resurgence of US manufacturing, power generation, chemical and agriculture sectors, as well as continue to keep costs low to heat our homes and fuel our nation’s transportation needs.”

The Center for LNG, a trade group representing the LNG industry, has issued a press release indicating that it agrees with the lawmakers.

Center for LNG President, Bill Cooper, said: “Restarting the permitting process for LNG facilities would give the US a unique opportunity to generate more public revenues, increase investment in the US economy, create new jobs, and reduce our trade deficit.” Cooper continued: “Promoting exports is a longstanding policy in the US, including the President’s National Export Initiative, which is designed to create jobs by doubling US exports by 2015.”

The letter brings the total number of House Members supporting expedited approval to 60, following a similar effort earlier this summer when a bipartisan group of 44 House lawmakers from Texas and Louisiana also wrote to the DOE to encourage an expedited review of LNG facilities.

“This is yet another indication that Americans are ready to get back to work. Approving LNG export facilities would be a significant source of new jobs and will help re-grow our struggling economy,” Cooper added.

Three Democrats and 13 Republicans representing the states of Arizona, California, Colorado, Kansas, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, Utah, and Wyoming all signed the letter.

Adapted from press release by Callum O'Reilly

Read the article online at:


Embed article link: (copy the HTML code below):