Skip to main content

Ophir Energy appoints Non-Executive Directors

Published by
LNG Industry,

Ophir Energy has appointed David Davies and Dr Carl Trowell as independent Non-Executive Directors to the company’s Board with immediate effect. Mr Davies has also been appointed as a member of the company’s Audit Committee.

The appointments follow Nicholas Smith’s decision to step down in May 2016 and Ron Blakely’s announcement that he will stand down at the May 2017 AGM.

Mr Davies recently served as Chief Financial Officer from April 2002 and Deputy Chairman of the Executive Board from April 2011 at OMV AG. He stepped down from that role on 1 August 2016. He has held non-executive Board positions for Nova Chemicals Inc. and Xella International SA, where in both companies he also chaired the Audit Committee. He is a member of the Supervisory Board of the Vienna Stock Exchange (CEESEG AG).

Dr Trowell has served as the President and Chief Executive Officer of Ensco plc following his appointment in June 2014. He has previously held a number of management roles at Schlumberger including President of Schlumberger Integrated Project Management (IPM) and Schlumberger Production Management (SPM). He is also a member of the advisory board for Energy Ventures.

Bill Schrader, Chairman of Ophir Energy, said: "I am very pleased to welcome David and Carl to Ophir's Board. Both have had extensive careers within the oil and gas industry and will provide valuable experience as we continue to grow our business."

Edited from press release by

Read the article online at:

You might also like


Embed article link: (copy the HTML code below):