Skip to main content

FERC welcomes new Chairman

LNG Industry,

The US Federal Energy Regulatory Commission has welcomed a new Chairman: Commissioner Norman C. Bay.

On his appointment to the post by President Obama, Bay said: “I thank President Obama for this opportunity to be the Chairman of FERC. I am honoured and humbled to work with my extraordinary colleagues on the Commission, as well as the many dedicated and talented staff at the Commission.

“This is a time of great change in the energy space, and it is more important than ever that the Commission use its authority with respect to infrastructure, markets, and reliability to further the public interest.

“I thank former Chairman Cheryl LaFleur for her leadership at FERC and look forward to working with my colleagues on the Commission and staff, as we build on the progress of the past to address the challenges of the future.”

Chairman Bay has served as a Commissioner since August 2014, and his term expires in June 2018.

Adapted from press release by Katie Woodward

Read the article online at:


Embed article link: (copy the HTML code below):