Skip to main content

Freeport LNG appoints independent director

LNG Industry,

Freeport LNG Development, L.P. (FLNG) announced that John M. Duty, Jr. has been appointed to the Board of Directors of the company's general partner as an independent director.

Duty retired from Bechtel Corporation in 2009 after 40 years of service to the company, ultimately retiring as its Senior Vice President and Manager of Global LNG.

Commenting on the appointment, Chairman Michael S. Smith said: "I am delighted to welcome John to our Board. As we embark on the construction of our 3-train natural gas liquefaction and LNG export facility, John's broad experience with construction of large-scale infrastructure projects, and LNG projects in particular, will be an invaluable asset. We appreciate his willingness to both serve as a director and lead our newly formed Construction Committee."

With the appointment of Duty, the FLNG Board is now comprised of the following directors: Michael S. Smith (Chairman), Charles M. Reimer, Sigmund L. Cornelius, Hugh S. Urbantke, John M. Duty, Jr., Robert Heitmann (Zachry Hastings), Hisaichi Yoneyama (Osaka Gas), and Jamie Cemm (IFM Investors).

Adapted from press release by Katie Woodward

Read the article online at:


Embed article link: (copy the HTML code below):